THE FESTIVAL

After the nationally sensational Faust Festival 2018, this is the second major event in the Bavarian capital in which everyone can participate, whether large institutions, small associations, renowned cultural institutions, well-known parks or private initiatives.

At the Flower Power Festival Munich 2023 everything revolves around blossoms, literally but also figuratively. Science, sustainability, plant diversity, garden art, climate change, biodiversity, aesthetics, quality of life - these and many more are conceivable topics that can be staged, be it with exhibitions, workshops, walks, theatre performances, installations and more. Indoors, outdoors and digitally are the festival's playgrounds.

The Gasteig, Europe's largest cultural centre, the Munich-Nymphenburg Botanical Garden, BIOTOPIA - Bavaria's Natural History Museum and the Kunsthalle München are the impetus behind the festival. Many actors can identify with the themes of nature, culture, city and blossom, which describe the core idea of the festival. There are hardly any limits to creativity. Anyone and everyone can participate, that is the basic idea.

In addition to participation, inclusion will play an important role this time. The festival offers the chance to sensitise many people to the topic and at the same time to enable as many people as possible to participate in cultural life. Ideally, this could result in sustainable impulses that move something in our society in the long term.

The initiators

Kunsthalle München
BIOTOPIA – Naturkundemuseum Bayern
Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg
Gasteig

Kunsthalle Munich

With around 300,000 visitors a year, the Kunsthalle München is one of the most renowned exhibition venues in Germany. Located in the heart of Munich's city centre, it stages three major exhibitions a year. Around 1,200 m2 of exhibition space are equipped with state-of-the-art museum technology and offer a worthy platform for works of art from a wide variety of genres: whether painting, sculpture, graphic art, photography, arts and crafts, design or fashion. Monographic exhibitions and thematic projects alternate, but interdisciplinary approaches also find a place in the varied programme. www.kunsthalle-muc.de

We are very pleased that our exhibition "Flowers Forever", in which we show interdisciplinary art, design and natural science objects around the flower, is once again the occasion for a joint festival theme in Munich in which everyone can participate.

Dr. Roger Diederen, Direktor der Kunsthalle München

BIOTOPIA - Natural History Museum Bavaria

A 21st century life sciences museum and future forum for science communication is being built in Munich. It will expand and reinvent the existing Museum Mensch und Natur in Schloss Nymphenburg. The BIOTOPIA founding team is already working on bringing together researchers, scientific institutions and the general public. With exhibitions "Made in Bavaria", BIOTOPIA wants to make the Bavarian research landscape as internationally visible as Bavaria's natural history treasures. The BIOTOPIA Lab in the Botanical Garden gives a first impression. www.biotopia.net/de/

We want to give a foretaste of the future museum and shed light on one of the most important topics for our biodiversity: The seductive interplay between pollinators and plants.

Prof. Dr. Michael John Gorman, Gründungsdirektor Naturkundemuseum Bayern

Botanical Garden Munich-Nymphenburg

With an area of 21.2 hectares and more than 350 000 visitors a year, it is one of the most important botanical gardens in the world. Around 19 600 species and subspecies are cultivated here. The parts of the greenhouse complex accessible to visitors cover an area of about 4 500 m². The Botanic Garden with its outstation near Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the Alpine Garden at Schachen, is involved in national and international research projects to which it provides important material and observation data. It also serves to preserve rare European plant and insect species. https://botmuc.snsb.de

Together with many programme partners, we look forward to inviting you to experience the theme of blossoming in all its facets for eight months.

Prof. Dr. Gudrun Kadereit, Direktorin des Botanischen Gartens München-Nymphenburg

Gasteig HP8

The Gasteig HP8 in Sendling is one of the most exciting cultural areas in Europe. The Gasteig's interim quarter is Munich's new hub for culture and education with more than 1,000 events a year. In the middle of an evolved biotope of studios and workshops, you will now find not only the new Isar Philharmonic, but also a striking listed industrial hall as the heart of the site, as well as other event locations, a restaurant, classrooms, courses and rehearsal rooms. A unique mixture for everyone interested in music, film, art, dance, literature and knowledge . www.gasteig.de

Together with many actors, we want to build on the success of the Faust Festival and once again put on a rousing programme for everyone. The Gasteig HP8 will be the festival centre and platform - and of course provide some attractions itself.

Max Wagner, Geschäftsführer Gasteig München GmbH

Festival Director Anna Kleeblatt

Since 2012, Anna Kleeblatt has been working as an independent management consultant for cultural institutions and companies in the areas of marketing, sales & service. Her project Faust Festival München 2018, which she implemented together with the Kunsthalle München and the Gasteig München, was awarded the European Cultural Brand Award. She is an honorary member of the board of the Tourismus Initiative München e.V. as well as the board of the Münchner Kulturveranstalter e.V..

In addition to participation, the theme of inclusion will play an important role this time. We see the festival as an opportunity to sensitise many people to the topic and at the same time to enable as many people as possible to participate in cultural life.

Anna Kleeblatt

Promoter

Beisheim Stiftung
Edith-Haberland-Wagner Stiftung
Carl Friedrich von Siemens Stiftung

Climate partner

Stadtsparkasse München
Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung

Partner

Allianz

Media partner

blandamedia
in München
rausgegangen

Cultural partner

BR

Promoter

Beisheim Stiftung
Edith-Haberland-Wagner Stiftung
Carl Friedrich von Siemens Stiftung

DAS FESTIVAL

Nach dem bundesweit aufsehenerregenden Faust Festival 2018 ist es das zweite große Event in der bayerischen Landeshauptstadt, bei dem alle mitmachen können, ob große Institutionen, kleine Verbände, renommierte Kultureinrichtungen, bekannte Parks oder private Initiativen.

Beim Flower Power Festival München 2023 dreht sich alles um die Blüte, im wörtlichen, aber auch im übertragenen Sinn. Wissenschaft, Nachhaltigkeit, Pflanzenvielfalt, Gartenkunst, Klimawandel, Biodiversität, Ästhetik, Lebensqualität – das und vieles mehr sind denkbare Themen, die inszeniert werden können, sei es mit Ausstellungen, Workshops, Spaziergängen, Theateraufführungen, Installationen und mehr. Drinnen, draußen und digital sind die Spielplätze des Festivals.

Der Gasteig, Europas größtes Kulturzentrum, der Botanische Garten München-Nymphenburg, das Naturkundemuseum Bayern und die Kunsthalle München sind die Impulsgeber des Festivals. Mit den Themen Natur, Kultur, Stadt und Blüte, die die Kernidee des Festivals beschreiben, können sich viele Akteurinnen und Akteure identifizieren. Der Kreativität sind kaum Grenzen gesetzt. Es kann wirklich jede und jeder mitmachen, genau das ist der Grundgedanke.

Neben der Partizipation wird dieses Mal Inklusion eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Das Festival bietet die Chance, viele Menschen für das Thema zu sensibilisieren und zugleich möglichst vielen eine Teilhabe am Kulturleben zu ermöglichen. Im Idealfall könnten daraus nachhaltige Impulse entstehen, die langfristig etwas in unserer Gesellschaft bewegen.

Die Initiator:innen

Kunsthalle München
BIOTOPIA – Naturkundemuseum Bayern
Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg
Gasteig

Kunsthalle München

Mit rund 300 000 Besucher:innen jährlich ist die Kunsthalle München eines der renommiertesten Ausstellungshäuser Deutschlands. Im Herzen der Münchner Innenstadt gelegen werden pro Jahr drei große Ausstellungen gezeigt. Rund 1 200 m2 Ausstellungsfläche sind mit modernster Museumstechnik ausgestattet und bieten Kunstwerken verschiedenster Gattungen eine würdige Plattform: ob Malerei, Skulptur, Grafik, Fotografie, Kunsthandwerk, Design oder Mode. Monografische Ausstellungen und thematische Projekte wechseln sich dabei ab, aber auch interdisziplinäre Ansätze finden im vielseitigen Programm ihren Platz. www.kunsthalle-muc.de

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass unsere Ausstellung „Flowers Forever“, in der wir interdisziplinär Kunst, Design und naturwissenschaftliche Objekte rund um die Blume zeigen, erneut der Anlass für ein gemeinsames Festivalthema in München ist, an dem jeder teilhaben kann.

Dr. Roger Diederen, Direktor der Kunsthalle München

Naturkundemuseum Bayern

In München entsteht ein Life-Sciences-Museum des 21. Jahrhunderts und Zukunftsforum für Wissenschaftskommunikation. Es wird das bestehende Museum Mensch und Natur in Schloss Nymphenburg erweitern und neu erfinden. Schon jetzt arbeitet das Naturkundemuseums-Gründungsteam daran, Forscherinnen und Forscher, wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen und die breite Öffentlichkeit zusammenzuführen. Mit Ausstellungen „Made in Bavaria“ will das Naturkundemuseum die bayerische Forschungslandschaft ebenso international sichtbar machen wie die naturkundlichen Schätze Bayerns. Einen ersten Eindruck gibt das BIOTOPIA Lab im Botanischen Garten. www.biotopia.net/de/

Wir wollen einen Vorgeschmack auf das zukünftige Museum geben und eines der wichtigsten Themen für unsere Artenvielfalt beleuchten: Das verführerische Zusammenspiel zwischen Bestäubern und Pflanzen.

Prof. Dr. Michael John Gorman, Gründungsdirektor Naturkundemuseum Bayern

Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg

Er gehört mit einer Fläche von 21,2 Hektar und mehr als 350 000 Besucher:innen im Jahr zu den bedeutendsten Botanischen Gärten der Welt. Rund 19 600 Arten und Unterarten werden hier kultiviert. Die den Besucher:innen zugänglichen Teile des Gewächshauskomplexes umfassen etwa 4 500 m² Fläche. Der Botanische Garten mit seiner Außenstation bei Garmisch-Partenkirchen, dem Alpengarten am Schachen, ist eingebunden in nationale und internationale Forschungsprojekte, denen er wichtiges Material und Beobachtungsdaten liefert. Zudem dient er dem Erhalt seltener europäischer Pflanzen- und Insektenarten. https://botmuc.snsb.de

Wir freuen uns darauf, gemeinsam mit vielen Programmpartnern acht Monate lang dazu einzuladen, das Thema Blüte in allen Facetten zu erleben.

Prof. Dr. Gudrun Kadereit, Direktorin des Botanischen Gartens München-Nymphenburg

Gasteig HP8

Der Gasteig HP8 in Sendling ist eines der spannendsten Kulturareale in Europa. Das Interimsquartier des Gasteig ist Münchens neuer Umschlagplatz für Kultur und Bildung mit mehr als 1 000 Veranstaltungen pro Jahr. Mitten in einem gewachsenen Biotop von Ateliers und Werkstätten findet man jetzt nicht nur die neue Isarphilharmonie, sondern auch eine markante denkmalgeschützte Industriehalle als Herzstück des Geländes sowie weitere Veranstaltungslocations, ein Restaurant, Unterrichts-, Kurs- und Probenräume. Eine einzigartige Mischung für alle, die sich für Musik, Film, Kunst, Tanz, Literatur und Wissen interessieren. www.gasteig.de

Gemeinsam mit vielen Akteuren wollen wir an den Erfolg des Faust Festivals anknüpfen und wieder ein mitreißendes Programm für alle auf die Beine stellen. Der Gasteig HP8 wird dabei Festivalzentrum und Plattform sein – und natürlich selbst für einige Attraktionen sorgen.

Max Wagner, Geschäftsführer Gasteig München GmbH

Festivalleitung Anna Kleeblatt

Seit 2012 ist Anna Kleeblatt als selbstständige Unternehmensberaterin für Kulturinstitutionen und -unternehmen in den Bereichen Marketing, Sales & Service tätig. Ihr Projekt Faust Festival München 2018, das sie gemeinsam mit der Kunsthalle München und dem Gasteig München umsetzte, wurde mit dem Europäischen Kulturmarkenaward ausgezeichnet. Sie ist ehrenamtlich im Vorstand der Tourismus Initiative München e.V. sowie dem Vorstand der Münchner Kulturveranstalter e.V. tätig.

Neben der Partizipation wird dieses Mal das Thema Inklusion eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Wir sehen das Festival als Chance, viele Menschen für das Thema zu sensibilisieren und zugleich möglichst vielen eine Teilhabe am Kulturleben zu ermöglichen.

Anna Kleeblatt

Förderer

Beisheim Stiftung
Edith-Haberland-Wagner Stiftung
Carl Friedrich von Siemens Stiftung

Klimapartner

Stadtsparkasse München
Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung

Partner

Allianz

Medienpartner

blandamedia
in München
rausgegangen

Kulturpartner

BR

Förderer

Beisheim Stiftung
Edith-Haberland-Wagner Stiftung
Carl Friedrich von Siemens Stiftung